Updates from Constitution Review Committee

Our Constitution recommends that a Constitution Review Committee be appointed to review the constitution every five years. At the 2019 Annual Meeting a committee was appointed and has met to review our constitution. The majority of the changes come from amendments made to the Model Constitution for Congregations that were approved at the 2016 Churchwide Assembly. These amendments were done to accomplish the following:

- ✓ strike the words "ordained minister/s" and replace with the words "minister/s of Word and Sacrament";
- ✓ strike the word "clergy" and replace with the words "minister/s of Word and Sacrament";
- ✓ strike the words "pastor/s" and replace with the words "minister/s of Word and Sacrament" where appropriate;
- ✓ strike the words "associate in ministry, diaconal minister and deaconess" and replace with the words "minister/s of Word and Service"; and
- make editorial corrections that identify the rosters of this church and implement the creation of the ministers of Word and Service roster.

The following are the amendments the Committee has also suggested:

*C4.04. This congregation shall- may develop an organizational structure to be described in the bylaws...

***C12.01.** The voting membership of the Congregation Council shall consist of the [senior] pastor(s) and other rostered leaders under call at this congregation, the president and vice-president of the congregation, and six at-large members of the congregation...

***C12.05.** c.The Congregation Council may enter into contracts of up to <a><u>\$-2000-_5% of approved budgeted</u> <a><u>expenses</u> for items not included in the budget.

d. The Congregation Council shall prepare an annual budget for adoption by this congregation, shall supervise the expenditure of funds in accordance therewith following its adoption, and may incur obligations of more than \$ 2000 up to 5% of approved budgeted expenses in excess of the anticipated receipts only after approval by a Congregation Meeting...

***C12.08.** The Congregation Council shall be responsible for the employment and supervision of staff of this congregation.

*C12.12. A quorum for the transaction of business shall consist of a majority of the voting members of the Congregation Council, including the <u>senior</u> pastor(s) or interim pastor, except when the <u>senior</u> pastor(s) or interim pastor requests or consents to be absent and has given prior approval to the agenda for a particular regular or special meeting, which shall be the only business considered at that meeting. Chronic or repeated absence of the <u>senior</u> pastor(s) or interim pastor who has refused approval of the agenda of a subsequent regular or special meeting shall not preclude action by the Congregation Council, following consultation with the synodical bishop.

*C13.03. An *Audit <u>Financial Review</u> Committee* of three voting members shall be appointed annually by the Congregation Council...

*C13.04. A *Mutual Ministry* Committee (s) (in the absence of a mutual ministry committee, the duties shall be fulfilled by the executive committee) consisting of 6 members shall be appointed jointly by the president and the pastor rostered minister...

*C13.09. Other committees or ministry teams of this congregation shall may include:

b. The Welcome and Outreach <u>Evangelism</u> Team. This team seeks to involve the congregation in witness and outreach.

c. The Christian Education Team. This team seeks to provide multi-generational Christian Education. Among other tasks, this team will recruit Sunday-Church School and Vacation Bible school teachers leaders.

***C13.09.02** The Congregation Council Shall <u>may</u> review the composition of each ministry and committee at its February meeting...

These amendments plus the ones from the 2016 Churchwide Assembly will be voted on at the Annual Meeting in January 2020. There will be copies of the full constitution with all the revisions at the Welcome Center and on the website in the near future.

Constitution Review Committee – Pastor Pam, Donna McConnell, Brad McKinney, Joy Smolnisky and Dave Thom